Tripoli (Lybia)


Tripoli (Arabic طرابلس, Ṭarābulus) is the capital and most populous city of Libya. It is also the headquarters of the central government and administration. It has a population of about 1.690.000 inhabitants and is located in the northwest of the country, on the Mediterranean coast.

The port of Tripoli is the main port in the country and the city is its commercial and manufacturing center and hosts the headquarters of Al-Fateh University.

Libya gained its independence in 1951.

The Tripolitania region, established around Tripoli, is characterized by its sandy coast, with lagoons and coastal oases distributed throughout it. The “Sha’biyah”, the administrative division of Libya, includes the city, its suburbs, and immediate surroundings. In older administrative systems and throughout history, there was a province called “muhafazah”, a state known as “wilayah” or city-state with a much larger area, which is how Tripoli has sometimes been mistakenly referred to, more correctly called the aforementioned Tripolitania.

As a District, Tripoli borders the following districts:

Do you want to be up to date with
MedCities projects?

Subscribe to the monthly newsletter to receive the latest news.