Co-sponsored by UCLG, Metropolis and the City of Guangzhou, the Guangzhou International Award for Urban Innovation aims to recognize innovation in improving social, economic and environmental sustainability in cities and regions and, in so doing, advance the prosperity and quality of life of their citizens

The Guangzhou Award is open to all city and regional governments around the world. We strongly encourage UCLG members and partners to register and submit successful and innovative initiatives by their city/local governments in tackling specific challenges.

The 2nd Guangzhou International Award for Urban Innovation was successfully concluded, with 259 submissions from 177 cities in 57 countries around the world. After careful deliberation, an independent Jury selected five winners for the 2nd Guangzhou Award, including Antioquia of Colombia, Bristol of the UK, Christchurch of New Zealand, Dakar of Senegal, and Hangzhou of China.  The publication: A Collection of Shortlisted Initiatives of the 2nd Guangzhou International Award for Urban Innovation offers an insight of the excellent cases and latest trends in urban innovation. 

How to apply: The 2016 Guangzhou Award timetable

To submit an application fill in the registration and application forms and send them to

Mark these dates in your calendar:

November 2015 – Call for submissions

31 May 2016 – Deadline for registration (expression of interest in submitting for the Award)

30 July 2016 – Deadline for receipt of submissions

August-September 2016 – Evaluation by the Technical Committee

October 2016 – Short-listed initiatives will be notified of their selection and may be requested to send additional supporting materials

November 2016 – Final evaluation by the Jury and award ceremony

For more information, please visit: